Announcing the 2017 S.D. Harvey Award Shortlist

Announcing the 2017 S.D. Harvey Award Shortlist

Kill Your Darlings and the Australian Crime Writers Association(ACWA) are pleased to announce the shortlist for this year’s S.D. Harvey Short Story Competition.

  • ‘Rules to Live By’ by Louise Bassett
  • ‘The Ridge’ by Katherine Kovacic
  • ‘The Enthusiastic Amateur’ by Melanie Myers
  • ‘Shafted’ by Roni O’Brien
  • ‘Flesh’ by Stephen Samuel
  • ‘How to Cease Being a Man Killer’ by Roger Vickery

The winner and runner-up of the competition will be announced at the Ned Kelly Awards on Friday, 1 September at the Melbourne Writers’ Festival. More details here.

The award is named after the late writer, journalist and producer Sandra Harvey, who along with her partner in crime writing, Lindsay Simpson, blazed a trail not only for investigative, true-crime writing in Australia, but also for women writers in the industry.

This year the first prize is $1000, with the runner-up awarded $250. All shortlisted entries will also receive a 6-month membership to Kill Your Darlings.


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.