About Us

The ACWA is dedicated to promoting greater recognition for crime, thriller and mystery writing in Australia and to protect the general professional interests of all creators of crime and mystery works. But we’re not just here for the professionals. We want to provide something for everyone who is devoted to the crime genre.

As organisers of the annual Ned Kelly Awards, we aim to celebrate the very best in Australian crime writing. 

Past winners read like a who’s who of Australian crime writing, including the likes of Jon Cleary, Peter Corris, Gabrielle Lord, Peter Temple and Garry Disher.

We also celebrate new and up-and-coming talent with the Best First Fiction award, as well as excellence in true crime writing with the True Crime Ned Kelly award.

Want to know more about the awards? Check the list of past winners.

Want to enter? Look at the guidelines.

Want to find out what your favourite crime writer is up to? Check out our members’ web pages.

Want to learn about new releases? Look at our latest news.

Want to book a conference speaker or have a writer come to your local library or bookshop? Look at our member services page.

Want to attend a workshop? Look at what’s coming up.

Want to read the latest crime blogs? Look at our blog page.


Come back regularly for all the updates on awards, events and new publications.